Rugby Legends and Hundreds of Followers Select the All-Time Best Rugby World Cup Squad


  • One of the best RWC XV is dominated by All Blacks and Springboks
  • Not a single England, Scotland or Wales participant has made the lower

In line with plenty of specialists, legends of the sport and followers of rugby information platform, RugbyPass, the all-time greats Rugby World Cup squad would predominantly be All Blacks and Springboks.

To coincide with this yr’s match, RugbyPass created its Rugby World Cup Final XV participant picker, which options curated lists of notable people throughout every place, who’ve represented their nation in earlier tournaments. RugbyPass then requested its 80,000+ sturdy fanbase – and a collection of former gamers and pundits – to make their picks from its picker and assist decide precisely which 15 gamers would make it into an all-time greats squad.

Total, the picks have been dominated by gamers from the Southern Hemisphere (94%) and specifically these from nations who’ve lifted the Webb Ellis Cup on a number of events (80% of the crew has received no less than one Rugby World Cup). The information has additionally proven there have been plenty of runaway winners in sure positions, with some gamers taking a sizeable majority of every respective vote.

  • Loosehead Prop – Os du Randt, South Africa – 34% of the vote
  • Hooker – Sean Fitzpatrick, New Zealand – 24% of the vote
  • Tighthead Prop – Owen Franks, New Zealand – 30% of the vote
  • Lock – Eben Etzebeth, South Africa – 41% of the vote
  • Lock – Victor Matfield, South Africa – 25% of the vote
  • Blindside Flanker – Jerome Kaino, New Zealand – 23% of the vote
  • Quantity 8 – Kieran Learn, New Zealand – 40% of the vote
  • Openside Flanker – Richie McCaw, New Zealand – 72% of the vote
  • Scrum Half – Aaron Smith, New Zealand – 37% of the vote
  • Fly Half – Dan Carter, New Zealand – 73% of the vote
  • Inside Centre – Ma’a Nonu, New Zealand – 56% of the vote
  • Exterior Centre – Brian O’Driscoll, Eire – 60% of the vote
  • Proper Wing – David Campese, Australia – 36% of the vote
  • Left Wing – Jonah Lomu, New Zealand – 59% of the vote
  • Fullback – Christian Cullen, New Zealand – 28% of the vote

One of the best XV is predominantly made up of All Blacks (67%) and Springboks (20%), with nearly all of the second and third selection gamers additionally being from these groups. Disappointingly, just one England and one Wales participant featured in a high three choice for any of the positions, particularly Jonny Wilkinson at Fly Half and George North at Proper Wing.

All Blacks legend, Andrew Mehrtens, additionally made his picks and largely agreed with the followers’ picks: “Os picks himself right here [Loosehead Prop] for me, I imply to win two Rugby World Cups twelve years aside is wonderful, and in ‘95 specifically, he was an absolute beast. They constructed the crew round him as a result of he’s a rare participant.

“While you come from a rustic that reveres Richie McCaw a lot, I’d be arrested if I didn’t select him [for Openside Flanker]. [Dan Carter]’s one other ‘GOAT’ to many followers of the game and to me he was the whole Fly Half. Not even a detailed second right here.”

Equally, Springboks legend, and 2007 Rugby World Cup winner, Bobby Skinstad, picked plenty of All Blacks for his XV: “[For Left Wing] it’s not a tough selection, I’m going for the large fella, Jonah Lomu. He meant a lot to me and plenty of others and he was a man you’d all the time need in your crew. In his day, he was actually particular.

“[For Fly Half] To me Dan Carter epitomises all the pieces about this place. He was the primary man who might kick and run and deal with and defend and simply do all the pieces else whereas being a totally good chief and a very good instance to everybody else.”

Along with choosing all-time biggest gamers, the followers and specialists have been additionally requested to choose who they assume the highest coach and referee has been from Rugby World Cup historical past, plus which stadium is the definitive venue for enjoying match matches. This was the outcome:

  • Coach – Rassie Erasmus, South Africa – 22% of the vote
  • Referee – Nigel Owens, Wales – 58% of the vote
  • Stadium – Twickenham, England – 27% of the vote

The remainder of the findings from the Final XV information can be found right here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *